Department of Sciences

Department of Sciences

Why major in one of our Sciences at John Jay:

The Department of Sciences at John Jay boasts one of the oldest and most prestigious science programs in the country. The faculty are internationally recognized scientists who are often called upon to provide their expertise to public safety agencies, to the courts and to the news media. The faculty is comprised of top-notch professionals in ballistics, criminalistics, forensic entomology, biology, chemistry, pathology, forensic DNA and forensic toxicology. Our graduate students have been admitted into medical, dental and PhD programs or have found employment with OCME and NYPD.

The department offers a B.S in forensic science in which students can choose to specialize in criminalistics, molecular biology or toxicology. The department also offers a M.S, in forensic science where graduate students can concentrate in criminalistics or forensic toxicology, a B.S. in toxicology, a B.S. in cell & molecular biology and a minor in chemistry and biology. 

 

Dr. Lawrence Kobilinsky
Undergraduate Forensic Science Major
Undergraduate Toxicology Major
Undergraduate Cell & Molecular Biology

Students working in a lab
Undergraduate Biology Minor
Undergraduate Chemistry Minor

Dr. Angelique Corthals
Graduate Forensic Science Program

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please contact us if you have any questions.

For Undergraduate students:

Dr. Sandra Swenson at sswenson@jjay.cuny.edu, Science academic advisor
Dr. Jennifer Rosati at jrosati@jjay.cuny.edu, FOS major coordinator
Dr. Jason Rauceo at jrauceo@jjay.cuny.edu, CMB major coordinator
Dr. Marta Concheiro-Guisan at mconcheiro-guisan@jjay.cuny.edu, TOX major coordinator
Dr. Shu-Yuan Cheng at shcheng@jjay.cuny.edu, Department Chair

For Program for Research Initiatives in Science and Math (PRISM) students:
Dr. Edgardo Sanabria-Valentin at esanabriavalentin@jjay.cuny.edu, PRISM program director  PRISM

               For Graduate students:
              
 Dr. Mechthild Prinz at mprinz@jjay.cuny.edu, MSFOS program director

               For General questions:
               
Azinia Brooks-Thomas at abrooks@jjay.cuny.edu